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Non-CISA manufacturing facilities may operate up to 75% of the facility’s total listed occupancy.  All employees 

and customers must wear a face covering (over the nose and mouth) wherever it is not feasible to maintain six 

feet of social distancing from another individual not in the same household. 

The following are the minimum recommended health protocols for all manufacturers choosing to operate in 

Texas.  Manufacturers may adopt additional protocols consistent with their specific needs and circumstances to 

help protect the health and safety of all employees, contractors, and customers. 

The virus that causes COVID-19 can be spread to others by infected persons who have few or no symptoms.  Even 

if an infected person is only mildly ill, the people they spread it to may become seriously ill or even die, especially if 

that person is 65 or older with pre-existing health conditions that place them at higher risk.  Because of the hidden 

nature of this threat, everyone should rigorously follow the practices specified in these protocols, all of which 

facilitate a safe and measured reopening of Texas.  The virus that causes COVID-19 is still circulating in our 

communities.  We should continue to observe practices that protect everyone, including those who are most 

vulnerable. 

Please note, public health guidance cannot anticipate every unique situation.  Manufacturers should stay 

informed and take actions based on common sense and wise judgment that will protect health and support 

economic revitalization.  Manufacturers should also be mindful of federal and state employment and disability 

laws, workplace safety standards, and accessibility standards to address the needs of both workers and 

customers. 

 

Health protocols for your employees and contractors: 

 Train all employees and contractors on appropriate cleaning and disinfection, hand hygiene, and 

respiratory etiquette. 

 Screen employees and contractors before coming into the manufacturing facility:   

 Send home any employee or contractor who has any of the following new or worsening signs or 

symptoms of possible COVID-19: 

- Cough 

- Shortness of breath or difficulty 

breathing 

- Chills 

- Repeated shaking with chills 

- Muscle pain 

- Headache 

- Sore throat 

- Loss of taste or smell 

- Diarrhea 

- Feeling feverish or a measured temperature greater 

than or equal to 100.0 degrees Fahrenheit 

- Known close contact with a person who is lab 

confirmed to have COVID-19 

 Do not allow employees or contractors with new or worsening signs or symptoms listed above to 

return to work until: 

- In the case of an employee or contractor who was diagnosed with COVID-19, the individual may 

return to work when all three of the following criteria are met:  at least 3 days (72 hours) have 

passed since recovery (resolution of fever without the use of fever-reducing medications); and 

the individual has improvement in symptoms  (e.g., cough, shortness of breath); and at least 10 

days have passed since symptoms first appeared; or 

- In the case of an employee or contractor who has symptoms that could be COVID-19 and does 

not get evaluated by a medical professional or tested for COVID-19, the individual is assumed to  
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have COVID-19, and the individual may not return to work until the individual has completed the 
same three-step criteria listed above;  or 

- In the case of an employee or contractor who has symptoms that could be COVID-19 and does 

not get evaluated by a medical professional or tested for COVID-19, the individual is assumed to 

have COVID-19, and the individual may not return to work until the individual has completed the 
same three-step criteria listed above;  or 

- If the employee or contractor has symptoms that could be COVID-19 and wants to return to 
work before completing the above self-isolation period, the individual must obtain a medical 

professional’s note clearing the individual for return based on an alternative diagnosis. 

 Do not allow an employee or contractor with known close contact to a person who is lab-confirmed 

to have COVID-19 to return to work until the end of the 14 day self-quarantine period from the last 

date of exposure (with an exception granted for healthcare workers and critical infrastructure 
workers). 

 Have employees and contractors wash or sanitize their hands upon entering the manufacturing facility. 

 Have employees and contractors maintain at least 6 feet separation from other individuals.  If such 
distancing is not feasible, other measures such as hand hygiene, cough etiquette, cleanliness, and 

sanitation should be rigorously practiced.  

 If a manufacturer provides a meal for employees and/or contractors, the manufacturer is recommended to 

have the meal individually packed for each individual. 

 Stagger schedules for employees to minimize close contact: 

 Stagger break time schedules to minimize interactions between employees and/or contractors. 

 Stagger start and end times for employees and/or contractors in each shift. 
 

Health protocols for your facilities: 

 Regularly and frequently clean and disinfect any regularly touched surfaces, such as doorknobs, tables, 

chairs, and restrooms. 

 Disinfect any items that come into contact with customers. 

 If 6 feet of separation is not available for employees and/or contractors in the manufacturing facility, 

consider the use of engineering controls, such as dividers between individuals, to minimize the chances of 
transmission of COVID-19 

 Make hand sanitizer, disinfecting wipes, soap and water, or similar disinfectant readily available to 
employees, contractors, and customers. 

 Consider placing readily visible signage at the manufacturing facility to remind everyone of best 
hygiene practices. 

 For manufacturing facilities with more than 10 employees and/or contractors present at one time, 
consider having an individual wholly or partially dedicated to ensuring the health protocols adopted by 
the manufacturing facility are being successfully implemented and followed. 

https://www.dshs.state.tx.us/coronavirus/docs/DSHS-COVID19-WhatToDo-Flyer.pdf

