Governor’s Strike Force - Economic Revitalization

Working together to reboot our resilient Texas economy and lift communities and families across the state.

Workforce, Economic Development and International Trade

Working Group Leaders

Robert Allen
President & CEO of the Texas Economic Development Corporation; previously served as Deputy Chief of Staff to Governor Greg Abbott and Deputy Chief of Staff at the Office of the Attorney General.

Adriana Cruz
Executive Director, Economic Development & Tourism Division, Office of the Governor; previously President of the Greater San Marcos Partnership, and Vice President of Global Corporate Recruitment for the Austin Chamber of Commerce.

Ruth Hughs
Texas Secretary of State; previously Chair and Commissioner Representing Employers at the Texas Workforce Commission, and Director of Defense Litigation in the Office of the Texas Attorney General.


Working Group Leaders

J. Bruce Bugg, Jr.
Chairman of the Texas Transportation Commission; Chairman, President & CEO of Southwest Bancshares, Inc.; previously Chairman and President of the Texas Economic Development Corporation, and senior advisor to Governor Rick Perry.

Kirk Watson
Named founding Dean of the University of Houston Hobby School of Public Affairs; State Senator representing Austin, elected President Pro Tempore in 2019; previously Mayor of Austin, and served under Governor Ann Richards.


Working Group Leaders

Julia Rathgeber
President & CEO of the Association of Electric Companies of Texas, Inc.; previously served as Deputy Chief of Staff for Governor Greg Abbott; appointed as Commissioner of Insurance for Texas by Governor Rick Perry.

Todd Staples
President of the Texas Oil and Gas Association; previously served as the Texas Commissioner of Agriculture, and as a member of both the Texas Senate and the Texas House of Representatives.

Arts, Culture, and Entertainment

Working Group Leader

Brendon Anthony
Director of the Texas Music Office in the Office of Governor; previously a touring and recording musician, producer, artist consultant, head of ecommerce and artists relations.